Book talk

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Spoilers throughout)

Summary: It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children. While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places

Rating: 4/5.

Thoughts: I seriously enjoyed this book from the second I picked it up. There was something refreshing about reading a script rather than all the novels I have been reading, it was easier to get through and my mind was able to make it come together as though on stage. Although I do look forward to actually seeing it on stage properly. I was somewhat hesitant about the book, worried that it was going to be lost in the Harry Potter hype and not be all that good. However, I found myself mistaken and loved every moment of it.

The book focuses on Albus Potter and Scorpius Malfoy and their journey through Hogwarts and Albus’ Daddy issues. Add in a mix of time travel and messing up the past and future, add in the idea that Voldemort had sex with Bellatrix Lestrange and you’ve got yourself a play. I can guarantee to you that you would find yourself loving Scorpius Malfoy, who is an utter delight and I am desperate for more of. I love him so much.

Seriously great book, can’t wait to see it the way it was intended. Only a year and three months to go.

Leave a Reply

