Book talk

The Station Series – Trish Marie Dawson

I started this series because Pinterest told me about a website called BookBub. BookBub is a site that informs you of books that are very cheap or free on Amazon Kindle. My new phone – A Microsoft Lumia 650 – is great for reading on, so I checked out Dying to Forget because it was free. A warning now, these books focus around themes of death, suicide and other triggering subjects. Also spoilers throughout

Dying to Forget, Dying to Remember and Dying to Return

Piper Willow has had an extremely rough couple of years. There’s a level of pain in her that the majority of us could not understand. She was raped at a school dance and the only person she confided in on the subject was her best friend, who ends up dying in a car crash. With Piper driving. Unable to cope with everything Piper ends her life and that is where the real adventure begins.

My first comment about this book is that in the run up to Piper’s suicide I didn’t feel a particular connection to her emotions. The book – and I think for the most part the entire series – has too much telling and not enough showing, but now that I’ve mentioned it I’m going to focus on what made me read all six of the books.

The idea of the Station is a world that comes after suicide and gives suicide victims the chance to make a difference in the lives of other people who are considering suicide. In this alternative afterlife, Piper is taken into the mind of a teenage boy who’s been through the mill. While inside the mind she has the ability to suggest things to the people. This is the same for all volunteers. They can suggest things to try and convince them to have a more positive lifestyle.

One of my biggest issues with the book was Piper’s instant jealousy and bitchiness about women. As soon as her subject meets someone Piper instantly dislikes the woman, despite her not having done anything wrong. This theme and that of a love triangle does continue a fair bit throughout the series which is something that annoyed me somewhat.

Within the station they have the power to pull people out of the person’s mind and back into the station. And when this happens, Piper feels she isn’t ready to leave and when the novel ends we discover she wasn’t. Her person committed suicide.

Over book two we see the characters continuing on, with characters being added into more people and saving them – or not. We see the growing relationship between Piper and her person [I’ve honestly forgotten his  name, it might be Sloan?]. And we get introduced to Andurush. We also get the idea that Piper is more than just another suicide victim who is now a volunteer.

I love the series and Ii love the ideas behind the station and victims volunteering to stop other people becoming victims. However, the novel did play on a lot of teen and young adult book cliches. I’ve already mentioned there’s a love triangle, something that is increasingly infuriating in YA fiction. What is possibly even more annoying is the idea of one special brunette teenage girl who is somehow completely different to everyone else.

Piper it turns out has the power to actually be heard by the people she’s in the heads of and she has what it takes to become a Seer, which pretty much no one else does. By the end of book three, Piper even becomes a mentor, which is something that I thought was too rushed into. I don’t feel like she was mature enough in the world of the Station to be put in that position. So yeah, I think there were too many cliches, too much was rushed and too much telling however as a whole I loved the story and the ideas behind them. The characters were loveable, especially Niles and Kerry-Anne.

I gave each of these three books 3 Stars.

Niles, Mallory, and Kerry-Anne

These novelettes were all written as additions to the main storyline of the Station series, instead of being from Piper’s point of view they take one of the other characters and focus on their point of view. I was very excited by this prospect especially the idea of seeing Niles’ story and perspective. I was a little disappointed by each of these stories because they always managed to find a way to bring the story back to Piper.

Of course I understand that Piper is the Station series’ protagonist and that she is obviously important to the author, but from this books I was hoping to see more of the characters and who they were before Piper rather than because of Piper.

We did see some, of course. We learnt about Niles’ inability to cope after 9/11, we saw Kerry-Anne with her pushy parents and the coma she was in for a long time. But once again I didn’t truly feel the characters and the situations. Although admittedly a couple of them did make me cry which is more than the first two could do.

Again, I gave each 3  Stars.

Now we are all caught up on the books I have been reading and I will endeavour not to get so far behind again.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s