Marvel Talk · Movie talk

Deadpool

It is fair to say that as far as advertising goes for movies, Deadpool has have some of the best. With billboards claiming it to be a romance comedy due to it being released on valentine’s day. And who could forget the emoji usesL. A lot of this of course was necessary when making a film of a character who is continually aware that he is a character.

I have to hold my hands up and say that I know very little about Deadpool. I’ve read one graphic novel and that was a year or so ago so I don’t hugely remember it. However, I have a friend who is a massive fan and his excitement mixed with the hilarious plugs peaked excitement in me for it. Although, it was excitement tinged with worry as I am not someone who appreciates language, gory and sex within a movie.

I imagine die hard Deadpool fans asking themselves why I wanted to see this movie then. A couple of reasons. The first is that I am a huge fan of Marvels movies and for me that means going to see pretty much all of their movies no matter which film company is making them. (Although there are a few I haven’t seen but no one’s perfect). The second is that I had read a Deadpool Comic and really enjoyed it. Plus my friends were going to be talking about it after seeing it, I needed to understand what they were on about.

And I am very glad that I went. I really did love the movie. Deadpool is an amazing character with an extremely tendency to break the fourth wall. Throughout the movie this added hilarity, not least in the post credit scene. What really surprised me though, about the movie, was how much of a love story it really was. Of course it wasn’t the Rom Com the  Valentine’s poster claimed it to be, but it was a love story. The very basics of the plot was a man getting ill and getting better but then trying to get back to his old self for the person he loves.

The introduction of Xavier’s school was a surprise. Me and my friends all shared a look like “Did you know that was coming” and we had to love Deadpool’s comment on how it was always the same two of them. Throughout the movie  I fell in love with Deadpool and Vanessa and the other characters. I loved the action, the attitude. I didn’t always love the gore but hey I can watch those parts through my fingers.

I’m looking forward to Deadpool coming out on DVD so that I can watch it over and over again.

Leave a Reply

