Book talk

Geek Girl: Picture Perfect || Holly Smale

Summary: Harriet Manners knows more facts than most. She knows that New York is the most populous city in the United States. She knows that its official motto is “Ever Upward”. She knows that 28% of Americans believe we never landed on the moon. But she knows nothing about modelling in the Big Apple, and how her family will cope with life stateside. Or how to “become a brand”, as the models in New York put it. And, even more importantly, what to do when the big romantic gestures aren’t coming from your boyfriend… Does geek girl go too far this time?

Rating: 4/5

Thoughts: I read this book straight after finishing the Christmas special, so I was deeply immersed in the world of Harriet Manners again and perfectly happy to stay there. Through the Geek Girl serious, I’ve picked up a number of useless but fun random facts. I’ve fallen in love with Harriet, Nat, Toby, Nick, and everyone.

In Picture Perfect, Harriet’s life is pulled upside down as her best friend moves to a different college and her parents then tell her they’re moving to America for six months. Although I think there is some unreasonable lack of communication between her parents and her, I was able to let go of my disbelief (but really, not telling her where exactly you were moving to and leaving it last minute to tell her you’re moving? What) because I love the way Holly Smale writes.

Harriet is 15 and turns 16 in the novel. Reading it from the perspective of a 23 year old, it made me realise how much I have changed since this age. Harriet is at the age where she is beginning to mature, she’s pulling less tantrums and remaining calm more. But that’s not to say she’s completely level headed, she gets herself into situations where everything is about to fall apart around her and she’s not even aware of it. My heart broke for Harriet because as a reader it was obvious what was going on, but she couldn’t see it.

Throughout the last 200 pages of the novel, I literally spent the whole time sobbing. Although the ending is an understandable one, although it’s not technically a sad ending, it was heartbreaking both for Harriet and LionBoy. I’ve got a few books to read first but then I will be moving on to All That Glitters to find out what is next for our favourite Geek.

Leave a Reply

