TV Talk

Pilot || Fear the Walking Dead

I never planned on watching this show, but constantly hearing good things about it peaked my interest. What finally swayed me to actually watch the first episode was a friend at work telling me “No, it’s not good, it’s fucking awesome.”

One episode in and I am captivated. I was unsure about it because I am not a fan of Zombies, but I was informed that it is not a show about Zombies, but rather a show about human nature and human interaction that has Zombies in it. That I could live with. And so far I am loving it.

The family is fascinating because there is clearly a lot going on for all of them. The sister has a desperate need to get away from the toxic household that has been overtaken by her brother’s drug problem. The Step-Dad has issues relating to his son from a previous relationship. The Mom is trying to balance a job as a counsellor with an MIA drug-addict song and a daughter who clearly feels pushed aside because of that. Then there’s Nick himself, terrified partly by what he saw and partly by the idea of going insane. Nick is already a really fascinating character and I can’t wait to learn more about him and the rest of the family.

I have so many questions regarding the episode I just watched

  1. How did the virus or whatever it is start?
  2. How does it spread?
  3. How do you kill a zombie?
  4. Is the Mom going to become a zombie because Calvin bit her?
  5. How did Nick get into drugs?
  6. How did Gloria get turned?

And so many more. Already the characters feel so real and I want nothing more than to soak in more of their story, to find out their pasts and follow them as they try to survive this horrific present.

As if  I didn’t have enough shows that I’m trying to get through. But now I must sleep because  I have work tonight.

Leave a Reply

