Social and Political

Congrats Mr Corbyn

In the past few months it’s safe to say that anyone who is a member of labour or keeps up with politics has been interested by the development of the Labour Leadership Election. I joined Labour as a member just after the election when it hit me that the electoral system was corrupt and that I knew the party I trusted needed reform and I wanted to be a part of that happening.

Throughout the campaign I was torn for a long while about who my votes were aimed towards. My deputy vote was clear. I voted for Ben Bradshaw. As a resident of Exeter, Bradshaw has been my local MP for as long as I really remember and I know how much work he has done within the city, I know how he is able to stand up for what he believes in and speak out when something is wrong. However, I knew it wasn’t likely that Bradshaw would win, so I knew I needed a good second option. Someone I wouldn’t be disappointed to see as Deputy Leader of the  Labour Party. For me that was  Tom Watson, Bradshaw became my hopeful vote and Watson my realistic vote.

However, for leader itself the decision was harder, for a while I was swayed by Yvette Cooper more than anyone else, but in the last couple of months before it was time to send off my ballot, Jeremy Corbyn came into my notice, and everything he said seemed to be something I believed in, something I could believe in. My vote went to him and I was so grateful when a friend informed me of the results because I couldn’t check them at work.

Jeremy Corbyn – Leader

Tom Watson – Deputy Leader.

Brilliant. And hasn’t politic been shaken already. It’s been only a few days but already Corbyn has been attacked left, right and centre, accused of being dangerous and even a threat to national security but I don’t see it like that. What I see is that Jeremy Corbyn is a dangerous man, dangerous to the Tory government, dangerous to the people of power who want to keep the poor people poor and the rich people rich. He’s dangerous to the way our country is being run. And that scares the shit out of them.

2 thoughts on “Congrats Mr Corbyn

  1. I totally agree with your views also “What I see is that Jeremy Corbyn is a dangerous man, dangerous to the Tory government, dangerous to the people of power who want to keep the poor people poor and the rich people rich. He’s dangerous to the way our country is being run. And that scares the shit out of them’ Let us hope he brings a new vision, hope and highlights all the unethical, disgusting attacks on the poor and disabled within the UK. I hope we can share some of our views on Labour. Specifically Jeremy Corbyns climb to number 10 and PM

    Like

    1. I have high hopes for Corbyn and his climb. I believe he has what it takes to get Labour back into number 10 and I believe that would be better. Corbyn genuinely seems to care about the average person being represented.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

